Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

District Teachers of the Year Named

TOY Graphic

Congratulations to Lerin Parker, Megan Bechard, and Tia Beltz.  These outstanding teachers were recognized as the district Teacher of the Year winners for 2019. 

Lerin Parker is a teacher at Western Elementary School and the Scott County Schools 2019 Elementary School Teacher of the Year.  Parker is an exceptional teacher and teacher leader.  Her classroom management is exemplary, calm and full of kindness.  She is a perfect fit as the school’s math interventionist offering instructional focus and alignment to math content.  She works tirelessly to make a difference for her students. 

Megan Bechard is a teacher at Georgetown Middle School and the Scott County Schools 2019 Middle School Teacher of the Year.

Meg Bechard gives her all to her students at GMS every single day.  She is a natural leader and never one to shy away from a challenge.  Bechard keeps content fresh and makes learning fun as she gets students to buy-in to, and become active participants in, their own learning.  Her excitement for projects quickly spreads to students. 

Tia Beltz is a teacher at Great Crossing High School and taught last year at SCHS.  She is the 2019 Scott County Schools High School Teacher of the Year.

Tia Beltz engages students in the exploration of the Spanish language.  Her classroom is warm and inviting.  She plans activities to encourage students to think, write, and speak in the target language, regardless of course level.  She is highly reflective and will always go the extra mile to research, collaborate, and attend professional learning experiences to enhance her craft and make authentic connections with students and their learning.

Each spring, parents, students, colleagues, and community members have the opportunity to nominate outstanding employees of Scott County Schools to receive teacher and employee of the year awards at the school level.  From this panel, a selection committee from the Office of Student Learning conducts a classroom observation to select a district teacher of the year for elementary, middle, and high school levels.

It has been our custom to announce these winners before a large audience of their peers on opening day for staff in Scott County.  This year, our busy construction schedule resulted in a slight change of plan.  This week, we announced the elementary school, middle school, and high school teacher of the year winners for 2019 during staff meetings at the respective schools.

Congratulations to this year’s winners who will be nominated for Kentucky Teacher of the Year honors later this year.  GMS is home to the reigning Kentucky Middle School Teacher of the Year, Erin Ball. 

Thanks to our friends at Community Trust Bank, winners received a $100 Visa gift card and an engraved piece of crystal.  Surge Promotions also donated $25 gift certificates to winners. 

Parker TOY

Elementary School Teacher of the Year Lerin Parker

Bechard TOY

Middle School Teacher of the Year Meg Bechard

Beltz TOY

High School Teacher of the Year Tia Beltz

Back to School News      Print News Article