Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

Class Officers Elected at SCHS

The significance of a representative government is not lost on students at Scott County High School this week.  The school partnered with Scott County Court Clerk Rebecca Johnson and Election Coordinator Amber Hoffman to make the election of class officers a real world lesson.

This year, 69 candidates filed to run for the offices of President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, and Reporter for grades 10-12 at SCHS.  This number is higher than normal, a trend that Senior Sponsor Susan Wickline attributes to the current political climate in our country.  Students papered the walls with clever campaign slogans and summarized campaign promises on videos shared with the student body during homeroom on Sept. 2.

At SCHS, sophomore class officers support Project Graduation while junior officers oversee prom and seniors plan and coordinate a variety of graduation and senior activities throughout the year.  These milestone events are important and high school students took the voting process to elect officers seriously.

Junior Haley Sturgill said that she planned to vote for candidates who had experience in student government and those that would do a good job representing Scott County High School.  Savannah Stewart agreed noting that she could tell from the campaign videos that some candidates were not very serious about the job to be done.  Both say their vote today will reflect these views and that they plan to exercise their right to vote when they turn 18.

Student Election Officers managed 10 voting precincts at the school with the help of community volunteers who also work at the polls in Scott County.  Students received identification cards in homeroom that they had to present at the poll before casting their ballot, either electronically or on paper.  A student who was absent asked for permission to cast an absentee ballot. 

Visit the Scott County High School Facebook page (linked here) or follow @ScottCountyHighSchool to view photos from the student election.  The Scott County Clerk’s office tallied the votes and announced winners this afternoon. 


Senior Class Officers:

President:  Lydia Bredwood

Vice President:  Lauren Fox

Secretary:  DeShawn Blankenship

Treasurer:  Sarah Lyons

Reporter:  Halie Fain


Junior Class Officers: 

President: Jimmy Cluxton

Vice President:  Anna Moon

Secretary:  Savvy Elliott

Treasurer:  Dalton Teegarden

Reporter:  Skylar Fisher


Sophomore Class Officers:

President: Jenna Lawrence

Vice President:  Asa O’Shaughnessy

Secretary:  Grace Lyon

Treasurer: Cameron Berryman

Reporter:  Ashlynn Trevino


Back to School News      Print News Article